NC-CCH Concealed Carry Handgun Instruction

We provide training to those who qualify to obtain a concealed carry handgun in the state of North Carolina. We are certified by the Justice Department of North Carolina to educate individuals on the law of our State as well as the safe handling of pistols/firearms in general.  We pride ourselves on being safe, and thorough in our training but, also make it fun and exciting that makes everyone feel comfortable during the classroom and on the range. 

Please see below for further description and information about the law as well as basic requirement to initially qualify to apply for a CCH permit in the State of North Carolina. 


Concealed Handgun Permit
Certain residents of this State (N.C.) may be eligible to obtain a permit which would allow them to carry
a concealed handgun under certain conditions. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-415.11. No other weapons
may be carried concealed pursuant to such permit.
North Carolina also allows out-of-state concealed handgun permittees to carry concealed
handguns, pursuant to such permits, in this State. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-415.24(a). While carrying
a handgun pursuant to such permit, qualified out-of-state permittees are held to the same standards
as North Carolina permittees. Consequently, there are a number of areas where concealed
handguns cannot be carried in this State, regardless of the individual having a permit to carry a
concealed weapon.
1. Application
In order to acquire a North Carolina concealed handgun permit, an individual must apply to the
sheriff’s office in the county in which he/she resides. As part of the application process, the
applicant must accomplish the following:
a. Complete an application, under oath, on a form provided by the sheriff’s office
(Attachment 4);
b. Pay a non-refundable fee of $80.00;
c. Allow the sheriff’s office to take two (2) full sets of fingerprints, which may cost
up to $10.00;
d. Provide an original certificate of completion of an approved handgun safety
course; and
e. Provide a release authorizing disclosure to the sheriff of any record concerning the
applicant’s mental health or capacity. (Attachment 4)
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-415.13.
Any person or entity who is given an original or photocopied release form as described in
N.C.G.S. § 14-415.13(a)(5), must promptly disclose to the sheriff any records concerning the
mental health or capacity of the applicant who signed the form and authorized the release of the
records. The sheriff must forward this request and release for records within 10 days of receiving
the application materials. No person, company, mental health provider, or governmental entity
may charge additional fees to the applicant for background checks. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-
NOTE: Permit fees for a N.C. retired sworn law enforcement officer can be reduced. The retired
officer must provide a copy of the officer’s letter of retirement from either the North Carolina
Teachers’ and State Employees’ Retirement System or the Local Governmental Employees’
Retirement System, and written documentation from the head of the agency where the person was
previously employed, indicating that the person was neither involuntarily terminated nor under
administrative or criminal investigation within six (6) months of retirement. Once presented, the
fees are $45.00 for an initial application and $40.00 for a renewal application. N.C. Gen. Stat. §
The sheriff has forty-five (45) days from the time mental health records are received to either
issue or deny a permit. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-415.15(a). In order for an applicant to be approved,
he/she must:
1. Be a citizen of the United States or have been lawfully admitted for permanent
residence in the United States;
2. Have been a resident of the State of North Carolina for not less than thirty (30) days
immediately preceding the filing of the application;
3. Be at least twenty-one (21) years of age;
4. Not suffer from any physical or mental infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a
handgun; and
5. Have successfully completed an approved firearms training course (unless specifically
exempted from the course by State law).
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-415.12(a)(1-5).
The sheriff must deny the permit if certain prohibitions exist. The application must be denied if
the applicant:
1. Is ineligible to possess or receive a firearm under federal or State law;
2. Is under indictment or against whom a finding of probable cause exists for a felony, or
has ever been adjudicated guilty in any court of a felony;
3. Is a fugitive from justice;
4. Is an unlawful user of or addicted to marijuana, alcohol, or any depressant, stimulant or
narcotic drug, or any other controlled substance;
5. Is currently, or has previously been adjudicated by a court, or administratively determined
by a governmental agency whose decisions are subject to judicial review, to be lacking
mental capacity or mentally ill. Receipt of previous consultative services or outpatient
treatment alone shall not disqualify an applicant;
6. Has been discharged from the U.S. armed forces under conditions other than honorable;
7. Has been convicted of an impaired driving offense under N.C. Gen. Stat. § 20-138.1, 20-
138.2 or 20-138.3 within three (3) years prior to the date of application submission;
8. Has had an entry of prayer for judgment continued for a criminal offense which would
disqualify the applicant from obtaining a concealed handgun permit;
9. Is free on bond or personal recognizance pending trial, appeal, or sentencing for a crime
which would disqualify him/her from obtaining a concealed handgun permit; or
10. Effective July 1, 2015 for all concealed handgun permit applications submitted on or after
that date, an applicant who has been found guilty of or received a prayer for judgment
continued or a suspended sentence for one of the following crimes listed in (a) through
APPLICATION, can (if otherwise qualified) receive a concealed handgun permit:
a. N.C.G.S. § 14-33(a), Simple assault;
b. N.C.G.S. § 14-226.1, Violation of court orders;
c. N.C.G.S. § 14-258.1, Furnishing poison, controlled substances, deadly weapons,
cartridges, ammunition or alcoholic beverages to inmates of charitable, mental or
penal institutions, or local confinement facilities;
d. N.C.G.S. § 14-269.2, Carrying weapons on campus or other educational property;
e. N.C.G.S. § 14-269.3, Carrying weapons into assemblies and establishments where
alcoholic beverages are sold and consumed;
f. N.C.G.S. § 14-269.4, Carrying weapons on State property and courthouses;
g. N.C.G.S. § 14-269.6, Possession and/or sale of spring-loaded projectile knives;
h. N.C.G.S. § 14-277, Impersonation of a law enforcement or other public officer;
i. N.C.G.S. § 14-277.1, Communicating threats;
j. N.C.G.S. § 14-277.2, Carrying weapons at parades and other public gatherings;
k. N.C.G.S. § 14-283, Exploding dynamite cartridges and/or bombs (however
fireworks violations under N.C.G.S. § 14-414 are NOT a bar);
l. N.C.G.S. § 14-288.2, Rioting and inciting to riot;
m. N.C.G.S. § 14-288.4(a)(1), Fighting or conduct creating the threat of imminent
fighting or other violence;
n. N.C.G.S. § 14-288.6, Looting and trespassing during an emergency;
o. N.C.G.S. § 14-288.9, Assault on emergency personnel;
p. Former N.C.G.S. § 14-288.12, Violations of city State of Emergency Ordinances;
q. Former N.C.G.S. § 14-288.13, Violations of county State of Emergency
r. Former N.C.G.S. § 14-288.14, Violations of State of Emergency Ordinances;
s. N.C.G.S. § 14-415.21(b), Violations of the standards for carrying a concealed
t. N.C.G.S. § 14-415.26(d), Misrepresentation on certification of qualified retired
law enforcement officers.
Effective July 1, 2015 for all concealed handgun permit applications submitted on or
after that date, an applicant IS permanently disqualified from receiving a concealed
handgun permit if the applicant is or has been found guilty of or received a prayer for
judgment continued or suspended sentence for the following misdemeanor crimes:
a. Misdemeanor crimes that involve violence and crimes under Article 8 of Chapter
14 (other than the misdemeanors listed in paragraph 10(a) through (t) above).
Prohibiting crimes under Article 8 of Chapter 14 are:
i. Assault on handicapped persons (N.C.G.S. § 14-32.1(f)); Assaults on
sports officials (N.C.G.S. § 14-33(b)(9));
ii. Assault on government employee (N.C.G.S. § 14-33(c)(4));
iii. Assault on school employee (N.C.G.S. § 14-33(c)(6));
iv. Assault on public transit operator (N.C.G.S. § 14-33(c)(7));
v. Assault on company police officer (N.C.G.S. § 14-33(c)(8));
vi. Assault by pointing a gun (N.C.G.S. § 14-34);
vii. Possession of Teflon coated bullets (N.C.G.S. § 14-34.3);
b. N.C.G.S. § 14-33(c)(1), Assault inflicting serious injury or using a deadly weapon;
c. N.C.G.S. § 14-33(c)(2), Assault on a female;
d. N.C.G.S. § 14-33(c)(3), Assault on a child under the age of 12;
e. N.C.G.S. § 14-33(d), Assault inflicting serious injury or using a deadly weapon on
a person in a personal relationship and in the presence of a minor;
f. N.C.G.S. § 14-277.3A, Stalking;
g. N.C.G.S. § 14-318.2, Child abuse;
h. N.C.G.S. § 14-134.3, Domestic criminal trespass;
i. N.C.G.S. § 50B-4.1, Domestic violence protective order violations;
j. Former N.C.G.S. § 14-277.3, Stalking;
k. Any person convicted of a “misdemeanor crime of domestic violence” as defined
in federal law at 18 U.S.C. 922(g)(8);
l. Any crimes involving an assault or a threat to assault a law enforcement officer,
probation or parole officer, person employed at a State or local detention facility,
firefighter, emergency medical technician, medical responder, or emergency
department personnel.
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-415.12(b)(1-11).
The Concealed Handgun Permit Application and Mental Health Records Release form is
attached to this document as Attachment 4.
A complete list of all concealed handgun permit requirements and disqualifiers is attached
to this document as Attachment 5.
Concealed handgun permit denial/revocation instructions and forms are attached to this
document as Attachment 6.
2. Renewal
Once the applicant is issued the permit to carry a concealed weapon, he/she must renew the permit
every five (5) years. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-415.11(b). In order to renew the permit, the holder must
file an application for renewal with the sheriff’s office in the county in which he/she resides at
least thirty (30) days prior to the expiration of the original permit. Along with this application,
the applicant must also submit to the sheriff a notarized affidavit stating that he/she remains
qualified, the renewal fee of $75.00 and a newly administered set of fingerprints. Prior to
determining if an individual remains qualified, a sheriff must update the applicant’s criminal
history and make another inquiry into the NICS database. The sheriff may require the permittee
to take another firearms safety and training course prior to renewal. No fingerprints shall be
required for a renewal permit if the applicant’s fingerprints were submitted to the State Bureau of
Investigation (SBI) after June 30, 2001 on the Automated Fingerprint Information System (AFIS),
as prescribed by the SBI. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-415.16.
At least forty-five (45) days prior to the expiration date of a concealed carry permit, the sheriff
will send a written notice to the permittee explaining that the permit is about to expire. If the
holder of the permit applies to renew the permit before it expires, the permit will remain valid
beyond the expiration date of the permit until the permittee either receives a renewal permit or is
denied a renewal permit by the sheriff. If the permittee does not apply to renew the permit prior
to its expiration date, but does apply to renew the permit within sixty (60) days after the permit
expires, the sheriff may waive the requirement of taking another firearms safety course; however,
the person may not carry a concealed handgun under this expired permit.
A concealed handgun permit holder who is or will be deployed for military service is allowed to
apply with the sheriff for an extension of the concealed handgun permit up to an additional ninety
(90) days after the permittee’s scheduled deployment is to end. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-415.16A.
In emergencies, a sheriff may issue a temporary permit to an individual when the sheriff has
reasonable belief that the individual’s safety, the safety of his/her property, or the safety of the
individual’s family is in immediate danger. In order to obtain this emergency permit, the
applicant must first establish with the sheriff that an emergency situation exists. The individual
must also submit an application, two (2) sets of fingerprints, and the non-refundable fee of $80.00.
The temporary permit is valid for a maximum of forty-five (45) days, is non-renewable, and may
be revoked by the sheriff at any time without a hearing. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-415.15(b).
3. Safety Course Exemption
The law specifically exempts from the firearms safety and training course certain qualified
individuals. These persons include:
1. An individual who retired from service as a law enforcement officer with a local, State,
or company police agency in North Carolina, other than for reasons of mental
disability, who has been retired as a sworn law enforcement officer two (2) years or
less from the date of the permit application, and has a non-forfeitable right to benefits
under the retirement plan to the local, State, or company police agency as a law
enforcement officer, or has twenty (20) or more aggregate years of law enforcement
service, and has retired from a company police agency that does not have a retirement
2. A current law enforcement officer employed by a local, State, or company police
agency in this State who:
a. Is authorized by the agency to carry a handgun in the course of duty;
b. Is not the subject of a disciplinary action by the agency that prevents the
carrying of a handgun; and
c. Meets the requirements established by the agency regarding handguns;
3. A person who is licensed or registered by the N.C. Private Protective Services Board
as an armed security guard who also has a firearm registration permit issued by the
4. An individual who retired from service as a State probation or parole certified officer,
or as a State correctional officer, other than for reasons of mental disability, who has
been retired as a probation or parole certified officer or State correctional officer two
(2) years or less from the date of the permit application.
5. A person qualified by the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training
Standards Commission under the Law Enforcement Officer’s Safety Act.
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-415.12A.
4. Restrictions
Any individual who has a concealed handgun permit must follow certain regulations concerning
its use. Not only must the individual carry the permit along with proper identification whenever
the handgun is being carried concealed, but he/she must also inform any law enforcement
officer who approaches him/her that he/she is in possession of a permit and a concealed
handgun. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-415.11(a). Failure to do so is an infraction. However, in lieu of
paying a fine for the first offense, the individual may choose to surrender his/her permit.
Anybody who has been issued a valid concealed handgun permit and is found carrying a
concealed handgun in any area where conspicuous notice has been posted prohibiting a person
from carrying on that premises is also responsible for an infraction.
However, anybody who is carrying a concealed handgun while consuming alcohol, or has
alcohol or controlled substances remaining in his/her system is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
Any individual who violates any other standards for the carrying of a concealed handgun with a
permit is guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor. Any person who has not been issued a valid permit
but carries a concealed handgun unlawfully, is guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor for the first
offense, and any subsequent offenses are Class H felonies. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-415.21(a)(b).
Although a person may have a permit to carry a concealed handgun, permittees are not
authorized to carry the handgun anywhere they desire. The handgun may not be carried in the
1. Areas prohibited by G.S. § 14-277.2 (Picket lines or demonstrations);
2. Areas prohibited by G.S. § 14-269.4 (Certain State properties such as courthouses);
3. Areas prohibited by rules adopted under G.S. § 120-32.1 (Legislative buildings);
4. Areas prohibited by 18 USC § 922 or any other federal law;
5. Any law enforcement agency or correctional facility;
6. Any building housing only State or federal offices;
7. An office of the State or federal government that is not located in a building
exclusively occupied by the State or federal government;
8. Any premises where notice that carrying a concealed handgun is prohibited by the
posting of a conspicuous notice, or statement by the person in legal possession or
control of the premises; or
9. School grounds under G.S. § 14-269.2, except permittees can secure their handguns
in their vehicle on school grounds. (Note: Private schools reserve the right to prohibit
firearms altogether.)
Permittees are specifically allowed to carry a concealed handgun in the following areas:
1. Premises where alcoholic beverages are sold and consumed unless the premises is
posted to prohibit the possession or carrying of firearms. Of course, the permittee
may not consume any alcohol while carrying in this area. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-269.3;
2. Premises where a fee is charged for admission unless the premises is posted to
prohibit the possession or carrying of firearms. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-269.3;
3. Parades and funerals unless the area is posted to prohibit the possession or carrying
of firearms. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-277.2; and
4. Grounds or waters of a park within the State Parks System as defined in N.C. Gen.
Stat. § 113-44.9.
As provided in N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-269.4(5), it is lawful for any person to carry a firearm openly,
or to carry a concealed handgun with a valid concealed handgun permit, at any State-owned rest
area, at any State-owned rest stop along the highways, and at any State-owned hunting and fishing
reservation. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-415.11(c).
Any of the following persons who have a valid concealed handgun permit are not subject to the
area restrictions set out in subparagraphs 1-9 above and may carry a concealed handgun in those
areas unless otherwise prohibited by federal law. These persons are:
1. A district attorney;
2. An assistant district attorney;
3. An investigator employed by the office of a district attorney;
4. A North Carolina district or superior court judge;
5. A North Carolina magistrate;
6. A person who is elected and serving as a North Carolina clerk of court; and
7. A person who is elected and serving as a North Carolina register of deeds.
8. A person employed by the Department of Public Safety who has been designated in
writing by the Secretary of the Department and who has in the person’s possession
written proof of the designation.
9. A North Carolina administrative law judge.
N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-415.27.
N.C. General Statute § 14-415.23 provides that no political subdivisions, boards, or agencies of
the State nor any county, city, municipality, municipal corporation, town, township, village, nor
any department or agency thereof, may enact ordinances, rules, or regulations concerning legally
carrying a concealed handgun.
A unit of local government may, however, adopt an ordinance to permit the posting of a
prohibition against carrying a concealed handgun in local government buildings and their
associated premises. A unit of local government may adopt an ordinance to prohibit, by posting,
the carrying of a concealed handgun on municipal and county recreational facilities that are
specifically identified by the unit of local government. If a unit of local government adopts such
an ordinance with regard to recreational facilities, then the concealed handgun permittee may,
nevertheless, secure the handgun in a locked vehicle within the trunk, glove box, or other enclosed
compartment or area within or on the motor vehicle. The term “recreational facilities” includes
only the following:
1. An athletic field, any associated facilities such as restrooms, during an organized athletic
event if the field has been scheduled for use with the city or county office responsible for
operation of the park or recreational area;
2. A swimming pool, including any appurtenant facilities used for dressing, storage of
personal items, or other uses related to the swimming pool; and
3. A facility used for athletic events, including but not limited to, a gymnasium.
The term “recreational facilities” does not include any greenway, designated biking or walking
path, an area that is customarily used as a walkway or bike path although not specifically
designated for such use, or open areas or fields where athletic events may occur unless the area
qualifies as an athletic field.
Our General Statutes provide that with certain exceptions, firearms regulation is preempted from
regulation by local governments. A county or municipality may regulate or prohibit the sale of
firearms at a location only if there is a lawful, general, similar regulation or prohibition of other
commercial activities at that location. A county or municipality may also regulate the transport,
carrying, or possession of firearms by employees of the local unit of government in the course of
their employment with that local unit of government. Municipalities or counties retain their
authority to prohibit the possession of firearms in publicly-owned buildings or grounds, except
that nothing would prohibit a person from storing a firearm within a motor vehicle while the
vehicle is on these grounds or areas. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-409.40.
Any individual who has been issued a valid permit must notify the issuing sheriff of any
permanent change of address within thirty (30) days. If the permit is lost or destroyed, he/she
must notify the issuing sheriff of such loss. The permittee is then eligible to obtain a duplicate
permit by submitting to the sheriff a notarized statement that the permit was lost or destroyed and
by paying the required duplicate permit fee of $15.00. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-415.11(d).
It is unlawful for the permittee to carry a concealed handgun while consuming alcohol, or at any
time while the permittee has remaining in his/her body any alcohol or controlled substance
previously consumed. However, a permittee does not violate this law if a controlled substance in
his/her blood was lawfully obtained and taken in therapeutically appropriate amounts. N.C. Gen.
Stat. § 14-415.11(c).
5. Revocation
The sheriff of the county where the permit was issued or the sheriff of the county where the
individual resides may revoke a permit, subsequent to a hearing, for any of the following reasons:
1. Fraud, intentional and material misrepresentation in obtaining a permit;
2. Misuse of a permit, including lending or giving a permit or a duplicate permit to another
person, materially altering a permit, or using a permit with the intent to unlawfully cause
harm to a person or property (It is not misuse to give a duplicate of the permit to a vendor
for record keeping purposes);
3. The doing of an act or existence of a condition which would have been grounds for the
denial of the permit by the sheriff; or
4. Violation of any terms governing the carrying of concealed handguns.
Either the sheriff of the county where the permit was issued or the sheriff of the county where the
person currently resides must revoke a permit for any individual who was adjudicated guilty of
or receives a prayer for judgment continued for a crime that would have disqualified the person
from initially receiving a permit. The sheriff must, without a prior hearing, provide written notice
to the permittee, pursuant to G.S. § 1A-1, rule 4 (j), that the permit is revoked effective upon the
service of that notice. This notice must give the permittee information on how to appeal the
revocation. Upon receipt of this written notice, the permittee must then surrender the permit to
the sheriff. Any law enforcement officer who serves that notice is authorized by law to take
immediate possession of the permit from the permittee. If the notice is served on the permittee by
means other than a law enforcement officer, the permittee has an affirmative obligation to
surrender the permit to the sheriff no later than forty-eight (48) hours after service of the notice.
A permittee can appeal the revocation by petitioning a district court judge in the district where
the permittee resides. The determination by the court will be limited to whether the permittee was
adjudicated guilty of or received a prayer for judgment continued for a crime that would have
disqualified him/her from initially receiving the permit. The revocation of the permit is not stayed
pending that appeal. N.C. Gen. Stat § 14-415.18.
The sheriff of the county is required to maintain a list of all persons who are issued a concealed
handgun permit. The list, however, and the information collected by the sheriff pursuant to the
application, is confidential and is not a public record. This information is available upon request
to all State and local law enforcement agencies. N.C. Gen. Stat. § 14-415.17 (c).
D. Transporting Weapons
Given the general prohibition of carrying concealed weapons, individuals must be ever vigilant
to ensure their particular situation cannot be construed as concealing a weapon, either on or about
them, without being properly authorized to do so with a valid North carolina or recognized outof-
state concealed handgun permit. Therefore, the permittee’s accessibility to the weapon is of
prime importance. It is unlawful to transport a weapon (absent a proper permit) that is BOTH
concealed and readily accessible to a person. It is for these reasons, that when transporting a
weapon in a vehicle, even greater care must be exercised to ensure that the weapon is not
concealed and within the ready access to an occupant of the vehicle. North Carolina law does not
specifically address how to transport a weapon in an automobile. Therefore, the central question
becomes: when is the weapon concealed and readily accessible to an occupant of an automobile?
Obviously, a weapon would be concealed and readily accessible, and therefore in violation of
state law, if it were placed in such areas of a vehicle as under the seat of the automobile; in a bag
in the back seat; or in some other manner that is covered or hidden within the easy reach of an
occupant of the vehicle.
The prohibition on carrying concealed weapons applies not only to handguns and other weapons
commonly thought of as being easily hidden, but also to “long guns” as well. Therefore, shotguns
and rifles concealed behind the seat of pickup trucks, and elsewhere in other vehicles, could
similarly violate North Carolina law.
As to those vehicles with no easily discernible trunk area (e.g., SUVs, vans, etc.), it becomes a
factual determination of when the weapon is within ready and easy access to an occupant of the
vehicle. If the weapon is concealed near, in close proximity to, or within the convenient control
and access of an occupant, which would allow him/her to use the weapon quickly, then a fair
probability exists that the occupant is in violation of the law. Therefore, care must be exercised
by any occupant of any vehicle to ensure that weapons are securely locked away in as remote an
area as possible, in relation to the passenger compartment of the vehicle. It is important to
emphasize that these prohibitions apply to passengers, as well as drivers of any vehicle.


Concealed Handguns Reciprocity

Since 1995, North Carolina has allowed qualifying residents of the state to obtain a permit to carry a concealed handgun from the sheriff of the applicant’s home county. The permit is valid for five years unless it is revoked. Please see North Carolina Firearms Laws for a list of “Do’s and Don’ts” for carrying a concealed handgun in North Carolina. This information is designed as a reference guide only and should not be relied upon as legal advice.

Other States’ Permits Honored Here

Effective December 1, 2011, North Carolina automatically recognizes concealed carry permits issued in any other state. Out-of-state permit holders should familiarize themselves with North Carolina’s laws.

For example, in North Carolina, concealed handguns may not be carried:

  • In law enforcement or correctional facilities such as a prison.
  • In any space occupied by state or federal employees, including state and federal courthouses.
  • In schools or on school grounds.*
  • In areas of assemblies, parades, funerals or demonstrations.**
  • In any place where alcoholic beverages are sold and consumed (such as some restaurants) the premises are posted as prohibited.
  • In any area where concealed handguns are prohibited by federal law.
  • In any place of business that has posted a sign banning concealed weapons on its premises.
  • By any person while consuming alcohol or while under the influence of alcohol or any controlled substances (unless obtained legally and taken as directed by a physician).

*Effective October 1, 2013, unless prohibited by a private school, a concealed handgun permittee may store a handgun in the person’s locked vehicle or in a locked container securely fixed to the person’s vehicle while on campus. It may NOT be carried on the person.

**Effective October 1, 2013, unless posted as being prohibited, a concealed handgun permittee may possess a concealed handgun while at a parade or funeral.For more information on these exceptions see House Bill 937, Session Law 2013-369, North Carolina Firearms Laws, and our chart showing where concealed handguns cannot be carried in North Carolina.

To possess a concealed handgun in North Carolina, you must:

  • Carry your permit and a valid form of identification with you at all times.
  • Disclose the fact that you have a valid concealed handgun permit when you are approached or addressed by any law enforcement officer in North Carolina.
  • Inform the officer that you are in possession of a concealed handgun.
  • Present both the permit and valid identification at the request of an officer
    NOTE: You should not attempt to display either your weapon or your permit unless directed to by an officer.

Permits Honored in Other States

Permit holders should know that while they can legally carry a concealed handgun while visiting these states, they’re subject to the laws of the state they are visiting and are responsible for learning about those laws.

States with North Carolina Agreements

  • Alabama
  • Alaska
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

There are no products listed under this category.